Book Review: Out of my mind

Out of my mind is an amazing book that shows that you should not judge a book by its cover. I found it on a bookshelf in my lounge, a book that my mum had brought but not read yet. I picked it up and started reading, and now I am so glad I did!

Melody is a 11 year old girl with severe cerebral palsy, and although she can’t walk, talk, or do practically anything herself, her brain is buzzing with things to say. No one in the whole school knows this; they just think she’s a troubled child incapable of learning things. Every school day is spent listening to the same preschool-level alphabet lessons over and over again. But this all changes when her family and her find something that changed her life forever;  something that lets her express her own thoughts and feelings…. 

FullSizeRender

The author writes out of her own experience with a child of similar difficulties, and really engages the reader to the book. The story has an interesting plot line and shows the real feelings from inside Melody.  I would highly recommend this book to anyone of the ages 10+ and I think it is a book that everyone should read someday. From me it gets five stars out of five for a great read and author.

Have fun reading!

SparrowHorse x

