Film Review: Mona Lisa Smile

Mona Lisa smile is a film I’ve watched recently, I caught the second half on it on television one night, then looked it up on Netflix the next day to see if I could watch the first half. I was very glad it was because I’ve discovered that it is a great film, only not the type I would usually watch. It was made in 2004…

url

It is set in the 1950’s, and about a woman named Catherine Watson, (Julia Roberts) who is a university graduate, hired to teach art history at the all-female Wellesley College. She is determined to make a difference, and get them to think that they don’t all have to lead the lives that they are expected to lead. Her first classes are a struggle but….you can only see what happens next if you watch it!

It is a really interesting film, but I think it is a bit like marmite, you will either hate it or love it. (I love them both!) I would recommend it for people who like drama movies, and it is rated a 12….. I haven’t really watched a film like it before, I don’t generally go for films set in the 1950’s, but even if it doesn’t sound like your usual film, I would try it and see if you like it; I was surprised… 

I hope you are inspired to watch it,

SparrowHorse x

 

 

