Book review: Silence is Goldfish

Hi again, I wouldn’t usually do a book review so soon after another but I have just read one of the best books I have ever read! It is by an author called Annabel Pitcher, a YA author that is quite new to me. She has only written 3 books, and I have read two of them recently; Ketchup Clouds, and Silence is Goldfish. Here is my review on it, starting with the blurb:

“My name is Tess Turner – at least that’s what i’ve always been told. I have a voice but it isn’t mine. I used to say things so i’d fit in, to please my parents, to please my teachers. It used to tell the universe I was something I wasn’t. It lied. It never occurred to me that everyone else was lying too. But the words that really hurt weren’t the lies: it was 617 words that turned my world upside down. Words scare me, the lies and the truth, so I decided to stop using them. I am Pluto. Silent. Inaccessible. Billions of miles away from everything I thought I knew.”

url

At first the title put me off a bit, I mean, who names a book Silence is Goldfish? I wasn’t really sure if it was something that I would like to read, I haven’t ever read a book like it. It had a bit of a slow start, and a lot was confusing, if you didn’t concentrate fully. But the author really captured Tess’ feelings, making you connect with her. I think a lot of readers were able to relate to her struggles and that made it a helpful book. Annabel Pitcher has a writing style that leaves you thinking, wondering whats going to happen next and who is going to do what, and why. I read it all within four hours, unable to put it down. 

It is a sort of coming-of-age novel, which I like as is different from the usual genre I read. I think one of its main drawbacks is that Pitcher doesn’t go into depth with some of the actions that happens in the book; she mentions them, but them skips ahead, as if they don’t really matter. The book makes you feel as if you are really there, though, as if you are the ones having conversations, or seeing things. Annabel Pitcher speaks as if it is real-life, and it really happened. I would recommend it to people 12+, who like interesting styles writing. I would also say that her style is rather like John Greens, so fans of him will love this. 

I hope you get a chance to read this, because although it has some drawbacks, it is a great book.

SparrowHorse x

 

