Book Review: Looking for Alaska

Now, in my last book review, (Paper Towns,) I said that the next book I was going to read would be Looking for Alaska. I have now read it and John Green is just as amusing as before. Here is my book review on it, I hope you like it…

9780007523160

The main character is Miles Halter, a teenage boy that is just about to leave his home in Florida to attend Culver Creek boarding school. On his arrive he meets his roommate, The Colonel, one of his best friends, Alaska, an emotionally unstable girl that he grows to love…

As much as I love John Greens writing style, it annoys me so much that it appears he cannot write about a character remotely different from the next…All his male characters are the same, it could be Miles Halter/Will Grayson/Quentin Jacobsen/Colin Singleton….They are all the same people – the same personalities, the same way of thinking… The other characters are well drawn, though, and individual, you can picture really well with the subtle descriptions John Green gives you. 

The book is both humorous and sad, making me laugh and at some points cry. I like the fact that the end doesn’t have the happy ending feel, not everything is entirely right; but I feel that it is a good way to end. Also, quite a few YA authors don’t use language that teenagers would use; some make them sound like adults, so make them sound like much younger children. John Green actually uses language that teenaged WOULD use…

Like most other John Green books it fits roughly into the coming of age genre, with romance along the way. I would recommend it for 12-13+, as it is REALLY rude…

Please read it, you won’t regret it!

SparrowHorse x

 

