Film Review: Allegiant

Last night I went to the cinema with a few friends and watched Allegiant, the third film in the Divergent series. I don’t think it was my favourite in the series, so i’m going to tell you about it…Here is the description of it;

Tris escapes with Four to journey beyond the wall that encloses Chicago. For the first time, they leave the only city and family they have ever known to find a peaceful solution. Once outside, they learn shocking new truths that render old discoveries meaningless. As the ruthless battle threatens humanity, Tris and Four quickly decide who to trust to survive. Tris must ultimately make difficult choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice and love.

Now, I have a big weakness to point out: The film is NOTHING like the book, they made up Insurgent, and so they had to carry on completely destroying Veronica Roth’s story to create something else. I have to say that the story that they have made is great, but to people who have read the books and expected them to be similar will be let down. 

Although it has drawbacks, it’s good features are something to talk about. The characters are determined and strong, ready to fight. The plot is interesting, although a bit less intense than the last two. The actors are gifted and great at expressing the feelings of the characters.

The genre is probably action, and I would recommend this for 12+ as it is a 12. I think I would rate it 3.5/5 stars, and even though I didn’t enjoy it as much as I would have hoped, I urge you to go and see it because you may think more of it than I have.

SparrowHorse x

 

