Chocolate chunk and pecan cookies

Today I made some really nice cookies, chocolate chunk and pecan, from a BBC recipe book. It was a new recipe for me, one that I hadn’t made before, but I wanted to give it a go. They are really sweet, chocolatey, and fun cookies to make, and if you follow the easy recipe, you will end up with some of the best you have ever tasted. A hint: I would space the mixture out a LOT when you put them in the oven,, because I put them too close to each other, and they all managed to merge into a massive cookie, so I had to cut them up. Here is the recipe, I hope you enjoy making!

 Ingredients:

  • 200g plain chocolate
  • 100g chopped butter
  • 50g light muscovado sugar
  • 85g golden caster sugar
  • 1 or 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 100g whole pecan nuts
  • 100g plain flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees or gas mark 4
  2. Melt 85g of the chocolate in the microwave for 1 minute or over a pan of simmering water
  3. Beat the butter, sugars, vanilla and egg into the melted chocolate, until smooth
  4. Stir in three quarters of the nuts and remaining chocolate then the flour and bicarbonate of soda
  5. Heap 12 spoonfuls of the mixture, VERY spaced apart on two baking sheets on greaseproof paper
  6. Poke in the last nuts and squares of chocolate into the lumps of mixture
  7. Bake for 15 minutes until firm-ish, then leave to cool on a wire cooling rack
  8. Eat!

2016-03-26 14.45.04

These cookies make 12, and take about 30 minutes to make. They can be stored in a tin for about 3 days. I love these cookies and I hope you do too. 

SparrowHorse x

