Book Review: Book of Lies

I read this book a few weeks ago, I brought it in a book fair for world book day, and I love it. It is by author Teri Terry; I have read some of her books before, the Slated series, and enjoyed them, though not quite as much as her latest book. I must admit they have some weird covers, but it didn’t put me off and i’m glad. Here is my review:

Quinn and Piper are twins but have never met. A tragic event brings them together and draws them into a family curse that stretches across centuries. One twin can command the darkness, the other could hold the key to breaking the curse. But when lies become truth and the truth looks like lies, who can you believe?

IMG_1013

 

 

 

 

 

This book is so emotional, as you read the book it feels as if you’re really there, and as the chapters alternate in first person between Quinn and Piper, you’re able to communicate with both aspects of the story. The plot is tense and captivating after the first 70% of the book, but before that I felt that it dragged on a bit and didn’t really get to the main point of the story. The author got to the main plot too late and before you got there you didn’t really know what was happening. 

The last 30% of the story is suspenseful and thrilling but if Teri Terry had evened out the action it would have been a much better read for me. Don’t get me wrong, I did like the start, just it would have made it better as a whole if she had written things a different way. The end plot was quite dark and full of twists, not what i’d usually read, but what I was expecting having read some of her other work.

I would recommend it for people who like dark, YA books. I would rate it 4/5, for people 12+ and a good read. Have fun reading,

SparrowHorse x

 

