Book Review: Fangirl

I LOVED this book! My parents gave me some money to buy a few books wth, and this was one that I chose. I wasn’t familiar with the author, but I had seen another of her (Rainbow Rowell) books at a book fair this year, that friends had read and liked and decided to give this author a go…It turns out that I love her style of writing, and will definitely try to find others from her. Here is my review, starting with the blurb, I hope you enjoy it and are willed to read the book:

IMG_1166

 

 

 

 

 

Cath and Wren are identical twins and until recently they did absolutely everything together. Now they’re off to university and Wren’s decided she doesn’t want to be half of a pair anymore- she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It’s not so easy for Cath. She would rather bury herself in the fanfiction she writes where there’s romance far more intense than anything she’s experienced in real life. Now Cath has to decide whether sh’s ready to open her heart to new people and new experiences, and she’s realising that there’s more to learn about love than she ever thought possible…

First of all, I loved the style and creativity of the plot line, it really struck me as an inspirational piece of writing. The characters I could totally relate too, each in their own way, and the story was beautiful. This wouldn’t have been the first book I would have picked out if you put me in a bookshop, as fan fiction isn’t generally my style- I never seem to find it that interesting or as good as the real book- but this is a different matter altogether and definitely the first book i’ve read about writing fanfiction…

I did have a few minor problems with the book, the first is silly, really, but I didn’t look inside the front cover until the end, and if haven’t read the book, on there are drawings of all the characters with names underneath. I had separate imaginary characters in my head as to what they would look like, and to be fair none looked quite as how I had imagined them…yes, a pretty stupid fault but annoying for me. The last weakness was that (I know that most people who have read this will be annoyed and will totally disagree with me) I honestly found Wren much too annoying for her own good; she really brought the book down for me…

 I would say that it is a YA/Romance/Coming Of Age book, and suitable for people aged 13+. I would rate it 4/5, and happily eat it again in the future. 

SparrowHorse x

