Film Review: The Jungle Book (2016)

Hi again, I watched this film at the Cinema and loved to yesterday. It was a plan for when my brother and dad were away, and us three would go to the cinema then pizza express. I was a little unsure on how it would be, and how well they would adapt it from Rudyard Kipling’s version. I got there and as the film went on, I was shocked as to how good it was, here is my review.

Wikipedia’s description: Raised by a family of wolves since birth, Mowgli must leave the only home he’s ever known when the fearsome tiger Shere Khan unleashes his mighty roar. Guided by a no-nonsense panther and a free-spirited bear  the young boy meets an array of jungle animals, including a slithery python and a smooth-talking ape. Along the way, Mowgli learns valuable life lessons as his journey of self-discovery leads to fun and adventure.

This film really stunned me because of the animals, they all looked mainly real, capturing the description and exact ways they look and walk. Much of the film captured fright in me, as the whole film looked completely real-life, as if it was really going on in front of me. They did add some changes and new features from the book, but I think the difference was for the better, giving some surprises to people that have watched the old disney film recently, expecting it to be all the same. 

I do think that they could have done some things better, for instance added in a few more of the songs, and music, as they only included about 2 of them, leaving out many from the original. Without the singing and dancing, the new jungle book, I would say, is a lot more frightening for people below about 8. They also didn’t include some of the characters from the original and the book, for instance the vultures, who did the talking bit at the end in the first film. 

Other than my spoken weaknesses, I thoroughly enjoyed the film, ad if I had chance, would watch again soon. It is a PG, and I would recommend it for people 7 or 8+, depending on how scared they will get. I love this film and everyone should watch it!

SparrowHorse x

