The Lion King at the Theatre

Yesterday I went to London to see The Lion King at the Lyceum Theatre. I don’t generally like London, so I don’t think I was looking forward to it as much as the rest of my family were…but in the end I enjoyed it as much as everyone else. It took an hour and a half to reach the stop we wanted on two trains, and after, we had to walk to a restaurant to stop for lunch. We ended up eating at Côte, a french restaurant which we had never eaten at before. It turned out really nice, and we all enjoyed it- even though I didn’t eat particularly french food!- I ate chips and salad, with a massive praline crêpe for dessert, shown below.

FullSizeRender

 

 

 

 

After lunch we made our way to the Lyceum theatre where the Lion King was being held. It wasn’t as big as I had expected which calmed me a little as I don’t really like crowded places, and we managed to get fairly good seats which meant we could see the stage clearly enough. After the play started, I grew fairly optimistic of the whole thing, the amazing costumes just one factor. The animal costumes weren’t made to look like real animals, they were cleverly designed to move with sticks or wires, but it was clear to see the actor inside or on the produced animal. But when the stage turned dark and you could only see their silhouettes, the costumes and masks made it hard to tell whether it was a real animal or costume…!

FullSizeRender

 

 

 

 

The sets were brilliant too, at least fifteen different scenes that slid down into place at the right moments. They were very cleverly designed and were used at their full potential. I don’t think there was a thing about it I didn’t like, the songs were the best i’ve heard in a musical, and the actors skilled and talented, just right for their parts. I would thoroughly recommend going to see int if you have the chance, as it is one of the best experiences in London i’ve ever had. The link to The Lion King website is down below if you want to find out any info.

http://www.thelionking.co.uk

SparrowHorse x

