Oaty peanut butter and raisin cookies.

This morning was a free time for me, and I had to figure out what to do with my time…I was relieved when I found this recipe, as one of many I will enjoy again. I wasn’t sure about it at first, as it is peanut buttery, which is not my favourite flavour at the best of times, but with some improvements on the recipe it should be a great snack. The recipe for us wasn’t quite right, we found it too peanuty, and not sweet enough, and with a little too few oats. I have adjusted this recipe so it is just the way I like it, and I hope you do too. The original recipe is from Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s book “Light & Easy”, and although this recipe wasn’t the best working thing for me, I can highly recommend this book for others. This recipe should make about ten cookies. Enjoy the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 150g peanut butter
  • 75g runny honey
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 quarter of a teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 75g raisins
  • 75g porridge oats
  • 20g brown sugar

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees or gas mark 3
  2. Line a baking tray with baking parchment/greaseproof paper
  3. Put the peanut butter into a mixing bowl, then add the honey and beat it in
  4. Afterwards, add in the egg and stir/beat that in thoroughly 
  5. Sprinkle the bicarbonate of soda over the surface and beat it in, then stir in the raisins and oats
  6. You will then end up with a stiff, chunky dough
  7. Put heaped dessertspoonfuls of the mixture onto the prepared baking tray

 

  1. If you want to, you can shape them into rough rounds with slightly oiled fingers
  2. Leave some space between them on the tray as they will expand in the oven
  3. Bake for 10-15 minutes then transfer to a wire cooling rack.
  4. Have fun eating, they are best within 2-3 days of baking.IMG_1399

I hope the recipe works out for you as it did me, and have fun! 

FullSizeRenderSparrowHorse x

