Book Review: To Kill a Mockingbird

To me, this was a book that I will forever remember, and most likely read again soon, for I loved it beyond any book I have read in the last few weeks. It took me longer to read than most other books, because despite being not a long book, the plot and words were confusing- mainly a consequence of it being set in the 1930’s and written in the 1960’s. I never thought I would end up liking this, as it was a book my English Teacher persuaded me to give a try, rather than me choosing it on someone else recommendation. I always knew that it would be difficult for me to read, or just more so than other, more modern books I seem to be reading most of the time, but surprisingly, I got to understand and get the hang of Harper Lee’s writing style and sentences. I will hopefully soon be enjoying the next book, “Go Set a Watchman”, which was published last year just before Harper Lee’s death. I hope you enjoy the rest of my review, starting with a short explanation of what happens during the start of the plot. 

To-Kill-a-Mockingbird-50th-Anniversary-Edition-184x300

The story follows Scout and her older brother Jem, living with their lawyer father, Atticus in their home town of Alabama, 1932. The first part of the the novel shares the story of one summer. Jem and Scout play, and discover new mysteries and friends. They come to know the shadowy character of Boo Radley, who lives in a neighboring house and yet is never seen. There are a number of strange rumours surrounding this man, but their fair-minded father warns them that they should try to see the world from the other people’s perspectives.

The story is a one for both adults and younger people alike because as it is a childhood tale, it has many adult points of views and topics contained inside. It shows readers how the world could be like if we wanted to change it, and helps us realise what is wrong with the world and society we live in. It gives views from different people, from different races and culture to bring together to humorous and passionate book it is. The only thing that I would change, if I had written this book myself is that it is quite racist, and uses topics that I wouldn’t use, (I won’t say: Spoiler!) 

Overall I would give it 4.5 out of 5, and I think it has deserved it. It is a sort of coming of age novel, with a sense of childish and grown-up writing. 

SparrowHorse x

 

