7 Books

On holiday I passed a bookshop while walking up the high street, and as i went in my eyes were drawn to the back of the shop, where there were stacks and stacks of world book day books from the last few years. To my surprise the deal was ‘buy one get three free’ and so it seemed like i had to get some I chose seven, which ended up as £2 (GREAT price!) but as I have not yet read them all, and it’ll take up a lot of room if I review all of them, ill only review 2 or 3. Here they are!

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

Blurb: If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in line of only three people, having to pee into a collectible Star Wars cup behind a dumpster or to meet the unlikely person who might truly understand the way she feels.

FullSizeRender

This is probably a subject that I wouldn’t normally read about; my brother is so star-wars mad I thought I had heard enough about to last me a lifetime. But although it wasn’t one I would pick out, I really enjoyed the subject and found it so interesting. Another thing I like about this isn’t a thing I wold usually say, but it’s a lack of characters. When you have too many in a book its hard to keep track of who’s who and who’s doing what, but with this, there are three main characters and that’s what the whole book is focused on. With this, you know all of the characters much better and therefore can feel and think about the characters with more depth.

I can say no bad words about this book, it seems to me to be a perfect book in pretty much every way. I also know the author already, I wrote a review on Fangirl a while back, click here if you want to see it, and so I think since I knew and liked the author I knew it was gong to be a good book and this made it easier to start and read. I would recommend this for girls aged 11 or 12+ and give it 5/5.

Geek Drama by Holly Smale

Blurb: Harriet Manners knows many things. Shakespeare invented 1,700 words, including puking, assassination and eyeball. A raindrop that falls into the Thames will pass through the bodies of eight people before it reaches the sea. She also knows just how badly auditions can go, especially when you’re a model. But she has no idea what to do when arch-nemesis Alexa decides the school play is the perfect opportunity to humiliate her.

FullSizeRenderThis book easily contains the same humour as the rest of the books in her series, making everyone who reads them able to crack up laughing after every few sentences because of the things Harriet has done. This book is also an easy read, by its style and writing, but it helps if you’ve read the other books, starting with Geek Girl, then Model Misfit etc. These world day books are short, and therefore only took me about half an hour to read each, so if you have limited time or space these are perfect. 

The only bad thing I can say about this is that I prefer them longer! After reading all her thick books, it’s quite disappointing when you get this and it doesn’t take long to read. I know that is the world book day style, and as they are only one pound they have to be short but I really love longer books! I would recommend this for girls aged 12+, and say that it doesn’t really matter if you haven’t read the others, but if you have that is sort of a bonus! I give this 4/5.

Spot The Difference by Juno Dawson

Blurb: Avery has always suffered at the hands of bullies, so when she’s given the opportunity to join her schools ‘A-List’, she grabs at it with both hands. But appearances can be deceiving and soon Avery’s not sure she likes this new version of herself. And its only by overcoming her fears that she can learn the true meaning of being comfortable in your own skin. 

FullSizeRenderI love this book. Full Stop. There is so much feeling put into this book, that with the right mind, you could end up crying. It shows you that bad side of real life issues, and shows you what can really happen when something goes a bit out hand. The characters feel so real; the different types everyone encounters in everyday life themselves. It honestly feels like Juno Dawson has just stepped out of school herself. Maybe she has. The problems in school are shown at their worst, but also how to deal with them. This is probably my favourite of the three I have reviewed, and I can’t point out anything wrong with it.

I am not familiar with Juno Dawson, or whether it’s just this book that I will find good, but I think I’ll try others by her soon enough. This would be for me 12 or 13+ and I sure you I’ll probably be reading this over and over again.  5/5

I hope you have lasted to the end! This was a really long blog post and I hope you have enjoyed it as much as I have writing it. As you can see, the ones I have read so far have been a real success so make sure you check them out to see if you feel the same as me. Bye for now,

SparrowHorse x

